追溯北敦公司的历史:从大英帝国城堡的铁厂开始可以追溯到英国的第十九世纪中叶;我们的英国通用部件工厂,在美国成立;天津市北敦金属制品有限公司,在中国成立。公司的历史上是一个钢铁产品制造商,从19世纪50年代开始,当城堡铁厂公司成立钢铁制造时灵感来自炼钢新贝塞麦法。
在1856年贝西默(1813-1898)在切尔滕纳姆的英国协会的机械部分的文章中,阐述了一种新的方法,不需要额外的燃料和劳动力。这个过程的原理是,熔入生铁到一个大容器,或转换器,通过这一股冷空气。空气的作用是金属脱碳,然后浇铸成锭。交易吸引了许多人直接和广泛的兴趣,并获得使用许可证。
1858年转炉钢厂建立,它是谢菲尔德的先驱,开始在19世纪60年代中期达到商业上的成功。在1864年,第一联作品钢制造在斯塔福德郡成功的完成。
在1856年,弗雷德里克西门子取得平炉的专利。在1861年,进一步提高专利相关的天然气生产,避免了使用固体燃料的改进天然气生产是从炉完全分离的固体燃料,等级低劣的如粉煤,焦炭粉尘可燃气体,褐煤或泥炭,以类似的方式在干馏炉。该炉是再生原理,被称为蓄热室。为了建立一个大的表面积,堆满了砖。
排气气体是从炉通过一个腔室,使气体通过加热室和在高温下进入炉膛燃烧。同时燃烧产物是通过其他冷室。该炉可以维持在一个较高的温度和恒定的火焰。技术进步是由彼埃尔,法国埃米尔马丁,能够通过熔铸使锻钢和锻浴在平炉熔铁。西门子马丁使用一种廉价的方式使用浴生铁为使所有的废料,特别是铁或钢轨,熔化。
1866威廉和弗雷德里克以西门子在伯明翰创建样本钢厂,顾名思义,试验新方法。威廉西门子在兰多尔斯旺西附近建立钢厂。在1868年,南达科他克鲁采用平炉制造钢轨。
在十八 世纪七十 年代城堡的钢铁厂繁荣,有27个搅炼炉,两线钢厂和小型轧机。在1880年建造了一座转炉钢厂。早在1884年,第二次转换器很快被添加,但后来工厂决定生铁的来源。
在1886年钢铁厂被拆除,城堡炼铁厂卖给了本杰明•塔尔博特,从前的钢铁公司。和他的儿子本杰明,随后在城堡完善初级技术方向(1864-1947)。
一些气体炼铁炉改为传统平炉电炉炼钢。塔尔博特显然认为这是向前迈出的重要一步。在1888年,他的讲座中特别提请注意这样一个事实,钢锭是取代许多分支的铁,不幸的是没有更具体的说明。
平炉炼钢很适合每周生产200 - 300吨的小工厂,或可能制造7 - 8类的小锭而不是更多的15 - 30 类锭,用于梁和板材,这需要更强大的轧钢厂。小平炉可以很容易地添加到现有的工厂中炼铁使用,并允许分阶段过渡到钢。
在1890年,托尔伯特移居美国后使用平炉炼钢在田纳西州南部钢铁公司。十年后他搬到宾夕法尼亚州的钢铁厂,他研发了一种新的方法,使钢在平炉中炼,称为托尔伯特的过程。这时公司通用组件,把托尔伯特聘为顾问。在20世纪初期,托尔伯特过程在钢铁技术中是有影响力的。通用组件成功地使用这种方法制造,稳步增加生产。
在1929年,美国陷入大萧条,许多企业关门。在20世纪的最后十年重建,通用组件面临一个新的商业机遇,需要寻找不同的业务对象。公司开始制造电线、电缆和网络组件,在欧洲、北美、南美、中东和亚太地区提供给电力和电信公司。然而,后来该公司多元化输出,使油井设备开始生产。
在1996年,在变幻莫测的世界市场考虑到新的挑战,通用组件决定将总部迁至香港。在1997年香港由中国自己管辖,通用组件在香港注册分公司,专门从事生产叶导轮和电气潜油泵(ESP),开了三个新的分公司:在中国,英国和俄罗斯联邦。2006年代表机构在阿联酋, 南非和智利设立。
2011年, 北敦公司合资成立,通用组件和北敦两家公司有着丰富和多样的企业历史。这些年来,北敦及其前身公司发现并开发了很多创新性的产品为我们的全球合作伙伴和客户服务。

The history of Bregton traces back to three companies: Castle Ironworks, whose origins go back to the middle of the 19th century in UK; General Components, founded in USA; and Beidun Metalworks, created in PRC. The company history as a steel products maker begins in 1850s, when Castle Ironworks company converted to steel manufacture, inspired by new Bessemer method of steelmaking.
In 1856 Henry Bessemer (1813-1898) read a paper to the mechanical section of the British Association at Cheltenham, outlining a new method of making malleable steel from pig iron, for which no additional fuel or labour was required. The principle of the process was that molten pig iron was run into a large vessel, or converter, through which a stream of cold air was passed. The action of the air caused the decarburisation of the metal, which was then cast into an ingot. The process attracted immediate and widespread interest from ironmasters, many of whom obtained licences to use it.
In 1858 Bessemer established a steelworks in Sheffield to pioneer the process, which began to achieve commercial success in the mid 1860s. The first Midland works to convert successfully to steel manufacture was the Old Park Works at Wednesbury, Staffordshire, in 1864.
The open-hearth furnace was patented by Frederick Siemens in 1856, and was improved in a further patent of 1861 when an associated gas producer obviated the need to use solid fuel. The gas producers were entirely separate from the furnaces and yielded combustible gases from solid fuel – often of inferior grades such as slack coal, coke dust, lignite or peat – in a similar manner to a gas retort. The furnaces worked on a regenerative principle whereby two chambers, known as regenerators, were piled with bricks in order to build up a large surface area.
Exhaust gases were passed from the furnace through one of the chambers, in order to build up heat, and then the draft was reversed, so that gas now passed though the heated chamber and entered the hearth at a high temperature where it combusted. Meanwhile the products of combustion were passed through the other ‘cold’ chamber. By continuously alternating the direction of the draft, the furnace could be maintained at a high temperature and constant flame.
A further technical advance was achieved by Pierre and Emil Martin of Sireuil, France, who were able to make malleable steel by melting cast and wrought iron in a bath of molten pig iron in the open-hearth furnace. The Siemens-Martin method was a cheap way of making malleable steel using a bath of pig iron into which all manner of scrap, notably iron or steel rails, were melted.
In 1866 William and Frederick Siemens established their Sample Steelworks in Birmingham in order, as its name suggests, to experiment with the new process. William Siemens then built a steelworks at Landore, near Swansea, in 1868-9, and in 1868 the LNWR Crewe Works adopted the open-hearth process for manufacturing rails.
The Castle Ironworks prospered in the 1870s, having twenty-seven puddling furnaces, two wire mills and a merchant mill. Further improvement was made by erecting a Bessemer steel plant in 1880s, that was working early in 1884, a second converter soon being added, but a decision was subsequently taken to move the plant closer to a source of pig iron.
In 1886 the steel plant was dismantled and moved to a new site at Rogerstone, near Newport, Monmouthsh Castle Ironworks was sold to Benjamin Talbot, formerly of the Haybridge Iron Company, and his son, also Benjamin, for Castle was subsequently under the technical direction of Benjamin Talbot junior (1864-1947).
Some or all of the gas puddling furnaces were converted to conventional open-hearth furnaces for making steel. Talbot clearly considered this an important step forward for small Midland forges. In a lecture given in 1888 he specifically drew attention to the fact that ingot steel was superseding puddled iron in many branches of the industry, unfortunately without being more specific.
The Siemens-Martin process was ideal for small forges making 200-300 tons per week, and could work small ingots of 7-8 cwt rather than the larger 15-30 cwt ingots used for girders and plates, which needed more powerful rolling mills. Small open-hearth furnaces could easily be added to puddling forges to use existing mills and to allow a phased transition to steel.
After moving to the USA in 1890 Talbot initiated open-hearth steel making at the Southern Iron & Steel Company of Tennessee. By the end of the decade he had moved to Pencoyd Steelworks in Pennsylvania where he developed an improved method of making steel in the open-hearth furnace known as the Talbot process. This was introduced to General Components , when Talbot was employed as a consultant. The Talbot process was to be influential in steel technology in the first half of the twentieth century. General Components was successfully using this method of manufacture, steadily increasing production.
in 1929 the United States was thrown into the Great Depression. Many businesses closed their doors. After its reestablishing in the last decade of the 20th century, General Components faced a new business reality, that required to look for additional business objects. The company started to manufacture wire, cable and networking components, which were supplied to electric power and telecom companies in Europe, North and South America, Middle East and Asia Pacific. However, later the firm diversified its output, making spare parts for oil well equipment.
In 1996, taking into account new challenges in changing world market, General Components decided to move headquarters to Hong Kong. After Hong Kong was handed over to Chinese control in 1997, General Components registered a subsidiary company in Hong Kong Special Autonomic Region of China. The main purpose of creation of this company was to start manufacture in China and to enter Asian markets.
The company is specializing in production of impellers and diffusers for electrical submersible pumps (ESP) and opened three new branches: in the People’s Republic of China, United Kingdom and Russian Federation. In 2006 representative offices were opened in United Arab Emirates, South Africa and Chili.
In 2011 a joint venture Bregton company was created through the merger of General Components and Bregton Metalworks, two companies with a rich and diverse corporate history. Throughout the years, Bregton and its predecessor companies have discovered and developed many innovative products for our partners and clients worldwide.